Board of Directors

Food AND Medicine has an all-volunteer 15 person Board of Directors. The Board are elected by our members at the Annual Meeting, serve three-year terms, with no term limits. Our Board Members all play an active role in our programs and events.

All four of our 2022 Board Officers are women!

Erin Oberson

Erin Oberson, President, of Old Town, is a Registered Nurse at Northern Light Eastern Maine Medical Center, and steward in Maine State Nurses Association (NNU). She is also Vice President of Eastern Maine Labor Council, and is active in issues around worker rights. Erin and her husband have four children. She was elected to the Board in 2019; the Board elected her Vice President in 2020 and President in 2021.

Molly Slotznick

Molly Slotznick, Vice President and Steering Committee of Bangor, ME, supports Food AND Medicine’s work to strengthen its organizational structures and processes. Molly works in the Office of MaineCare Services at the Maine Department of Health and Human Services; she has also worked in the areas of food and nutrition insecurity, climate resilience, and international development. Molly joined the Board in 2019; the Board elected her VP in 2021.

Kati Corlew

Dr. Kate Corlew, Secretary, Past President, of Hampden, is an Assistant Professor of Psychology at University of Maine, Augusta. Her expertise is on the psychology of poverty, both on the effects of being poor and how the poor are treated by others. Kati manages a community garden on campus and has organized an on-campus food pantry for students, and is the faculty coordinator for the university’s Office of Civic Engagement. She was elected to the Board in 2017, and the Board elected her President in 2020.

Nancy Peckenham

Nancy Peckenham, of Lubec, worked for ten years as a communications director for a labor union then worked as an executive producer for a nationally known cable television news network and founded an online news site. She also spent several years making documentary films and currently runs an online news publication focusing on life as we age. She has served on the Solidarity Harvest Committee for several years, in charge of coordinating with farmers about their crops and making the purchases for the harvest baskets. Nancy joined the Board in 2019.

Loren Snow

Loren Snow, Steering Committee, of Surry, is a retired Maine DOT truck driver and retiree Board member of Maine Service Employees Association, SEIU Local 1989. Loren was first introduced to FAM when he received a Solidarity Harvest meal basket, for which he now volunteers annually and serves on the Committee. He has been highly active in FAM as a spokesman for worker rights since 2010, and was first elected to the Board in 2012.

Marc Cryer

Marc Cryer, of Glenburn is the Director of the Bureau of Labor Education at the University of Maine, a department dedicated to providing education, information, and research to workers and labor organizations in Maine. He is a California licensed attorney with a background in public sector labor relations, collective bargaining, and workplace conflict resolution. Marc has been involved with FAM for several years and often speaks about labor issues at FAM events and was elected to the Board in 2018.

Sue Hoyt

Suzanne Hoyt, of Bangor, is a retired social worker. Sue has been very active in FAM’s Food Access Committee, having helped start one of our first collective gardens at her senior housing complex. Sue has spoken at many FAM events and press conferences. She joined the Board in 2020.


Kayla Kalel

Kayla Kalel, of Bangor, is a 2021 graduate of University of Maine, Augusta and single parent. She serves as chapter lead to Young People in Recovery-Brewer and is on the Board of Directors for Health Equity Alliance. She is a birthing doula and serves on the Maine State Breastfeeding Coalition, offering free services to moms in or seeking recovery from substance use disorder. She is passionate about ensuring folks have their basic needs met so that they can become the best version of themselves. Kayla is active in FAM’s Food Access Committee and joined the Board in 2020.

Pic coming soon

Lucas Lockhart, of Bangor, ME, manages the educational programming at the Maine Discovery Museum. He is active in our Covid Solidarity program and was elected to the Board in January 2021.

Dawn Neptune Adams

Dawn Neptune Adams is a member of the Penobscot Nation, and works to educate others about the atrocities inflicted on Native Americans by the United States government. Dawn is a consultant and activist for Racial Equity & Justice, an environmental activist, film maker, collaborator with Upstander Project, and facilitator at Red Empress Foundation. Dawn joined the Board in January 2022.

Sonja Birthisel

Dr. Sonja Birthisel, of Orono, serves as Director of the Wilson Center for Spiritual Exploration and Multifaith Dialog at UMaine, in addition to conducting applied research on climate change resilience in agriculture. She is passionate about sustainable agriculture, food security, and building inclusive communities in which all people are empowered to be their full selves and know that their voice matters. Sonja joined the Board in January 2022.

Darcy Cooke

E. Darcy Cooke, of Bangor, was a staff Organizer for Food AND Medicine for three years, focusing on public transit, food justice and our electoral program. She left our staff in July 2021 to pursue other interests and currently works for Maine Network of Community Food Councils. Darcy is a 2021 graduate of Emerge Maine, a talented musician and trained chef. She joined the Board in January 2022.

Richard Evans

Dr. Richard A. Evans, of Dover-Foxcroft, is self-employed as a general surgeon; he is a member and past president of the Maine Medical Association. He is a decorated veteran of the U.S. Air Force. Dr. Evans is serving his first term in the Maine House, representing District 120 in Piscataquis County, where his focus includes health care, poverty and food insecurity. He joined the Board in January 2022. 

Brian Markey

Brian Markey, of Kenduskeag, works for Maine Department of Transportation and is an active member of Maine Service Employees Association, SEIU local 1989. He's a Trustee of the Eastern Maine Labor Council, and has volunteered with Solidarity Harvest for several years. Brian joined the Board in January 2022.